I’ll Be Back

Sadly, our semester has come to an end. I really wish it wouldn’t though, because I have really loved this course. I like how we didn’t have to worry about memorizing for tests so we could really focus and absorb the material you gave us during lectures. I also enjoyed applying information from lectures and course readings into our assignments. This class really does encourage critical thinking and the creative application of it, both very useful skills.

In our last lectures, I would like to continue on learning about postmodernism. I think learning more about what postmodernism really is and what it is characterized by will help me in my final paper. Also, we are studying Blade Runner and post-modernism in my HUMA course. I like it when themes from different classes are the same or connect to each other, because now I can bring in transhumanism to that class discussion!

My favorite reading from this year is a tie between all the Klosterman articles. He is hilarious and insightful. If I absolutely had to choose one, I think it would be “This is Emo.” He points out a major flaw in television and movies that truly does affect everyone in the world: the idealization of love. The image of love as presented by these media is fake and unattainable, yet women come to expect it. It’s not fair to men like Klosterman to have to live up to the standard of John Cusack. Wow. You don’t hear that a lot.

My least favorite reading of the semester was the Baudrillard reading. It was very confusing at the beginning and really weird to think that everything around us is just a simulation. I don’t like thinking that nothing is real. That’s weird and unnatural. However, I did understand it better after Shaviro interpreted it. I understand why it is comforting for us to create over-the-top magical lands like Disneyland that look so fake. We make them look fake as a point of comparison. If this is fake, the rest of the world is real. That makes sense in a way that dos not make me super paranoid of everything around me.

309126-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movie-quotes

One of the many great lessons from arguably my favorite book.

I titled this blog post “I’ll Be Back” not because I am repeating this course (although I would very much like to), but because I plan on majoring in Communication. I would especially like to retake this course next year if you studied teenage identity, simply for the fact that I think everyone should read or watch the movie Perks of Being a Wallflower. Such a fantastic coming-of-age story. If you do choose that topic, I might have to come sit in on those lecture days. Next year, I will be taking Mass Media and Special Topics in Communication: Media Fandoms. My other classes are just common curriculum or for my other intended major, Business. Hopefully, over the next three years as I try to fulfill my major requirement, I’ll have another class with you, Dr. Delwiche, because like I said before I really like your teaching style. As long as we are talking about the distant future, I do plan on studying abroad. I cannot decide where I want to go though. I really want to go to Lisbon, Portugal, and I want to learn Portuguese. However, Trinity also offers really great courses to places like New Zealand, China, Spain, Egypt, Morocco, etc. I have time to decide, of course. I just really can’t wait to go abroad so I’m planning ahead.

Well, I guess this is it. The end of my final blog post. Thank you for a great semester, Dr. Delwiche. I hope I get to work with you again in the future. If not, I’m sure I’ll see you around! Have a great summer!

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment